Many people are surprised to learn that reckless driving is a class one misdemeanor in Virginia, which means it can be punished by a fine of up to $2,500 and up to 12 months in jail. A provision of the Virginia code also allows the court to suspend a defendant’s driver’s license for a period ranging from 10 days to six months. In addition to the court’s penalties, reckless driving can result in increased DMV points and sometimes increased insurance rates.
While the punishments are the same, reckless driving can be charged under many different sections of the Virginia code for a wide range of driving behaviors, including:
- Driving a vehicle with inadequate or improper brakes
- Passing on a curve or the crest of a hill
- Driving with an obstructed view to the front or sides
- Passing in an intersection or at a railroad crossing
- Passing a stopped school bus
- Failing to use turn signals
- Failing to yield the right of way
Reckless driving can also be charged for general driving behavior that is considered driving “recklessly or at a speed or in a manner so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person.” Police officer will also charge a suspect with reckless driving when there is alcohol involved but the case does not rise to the level of driving while intoxicated.
Of course, having a misdemeanor conviction, even for reckless driving, can be detrimental to employment or for obtaining or keeping a security clearance.Google+